Ragas Live Festival 2018

Ragas Live is an epic 24-hour, 24-set festival featuring over 60 world-class musicians. A celebration of what The New York Times calls “the Raga Renaissance, flowering in Brooklyn,” the event features both traditional Indian Classical music and contemporary cross-cultural collaborations. Highlights include the Ritual Ensemble (Vijay Iyer, Rajna Swaminathan, Yosvany Terry, Ganavya); House of Waters; Mitali Bhawmik; Navatman Music Collective & Bulgarian Voices Trio; and Brooklyn Raga Massive’s Coltrane Raga Tribute. The visual experience will be curated by Nitin Mukul, whose videos will intersect with each raga’s specific characteristics, blending with the shifting rasas (essences) of the 24 hour cycle.

Roughly meaning “to color the mind,” India’s classical music is unique in that its modes are only meant to be played at certain times of day; the music harmonizes not only with the other instruments but also with the moods associated with, for example, sunrise or midnight. Inspired by this unique system, a community of 50 musicians descended upon radio station WKCR-FM in 2011 to bring listeners worldwide on a 24-hour journey of sound. Now in its seventh year, Ragas Live Festival brings this harmonizing, immersive experience to Pioneer Works.

Full schedule


Pradhanica Dance and Music Company

Jin Won (kathak)
Michael Lukshis (tabla)
Kaumil Shah (djembe)
Indro Roy Chowdhury (sitar)


V.K. Raman

V.K. Raman (flute)
Arun Ramamurthy (violin)
Akshay Anantapadmanabhan (mridangam)


Mitali Bhawmik

Mitali Bhawmik (vocal)
Anirban Chakravarty (harmonium)
Dibyarka Chatterjee (tabla)



Ganavya (voice)
Rajna Swaminathan (mridangam)
Max Ridley (bass)
Charles Overton (harp)



Trina Basu (violin)
Amali Premawardhana (cello)
Perry Wortman (bass)
Rajna Swaminathan (mridangam)


Aditya Prakash

Aditya Prakash (vocal)
Arun Ramamurthy (violin)
Abhinav Seetharaman (mridangam)


Anirban Dasgupta

Anirban Dasgupta (sarod)
Mir Naqib Islam (tabla)


Samarth Nagarkar

Samarth Nagarkar (vocal)
Rohan Prabhudesai (harmonium)
Sandip Ghosh (tabla)


House of Waters

Max ZT (dulcimer)
Moto Fukushima (bass)
Ignacio Rivas-Bixio (drums)


Arun Ramamurthy Trio

Arun Ramamurthy (violin)
Perry Wortman (bass)
Sameer Gupta (drumset)


Ross Hammond Trio w/special guests

Ross Hammond (guitar)
Pawan Benjamin (saxophone, bansuri)
Sameer Gupta (drums)
Morgan Zwerlein (percussion)
Renald St. Juste (percussion)


Unstruck Sound

Eric Fraser (bansuri)
Neel Murgai (throat singing, daf, sitar, electronics)
Aaron Shragge (trumpet, shakhuhachi, electronics)
David Ellenbogen (guitar, lap steel)


Steve Gorn

Steve Gorn (bansuri)
Shiva Ghoshal (tabla)


Abhik Mukherjee

Abhik Mukherjee (sitar)
Shiva Ghoshal (tabla)


Jay Gandhi

Jay Gandhi (bansuri)
Ehren Hanson (tabla)


Andrew Shantz

Andrew Shantz (vocal)
Anirban Chakravarty (harmonium)
Roshni Samlal (tabla)


Rajeswari Satish

Rajeswari Satish (vocal)
Radhika Mani (violin)
Bala Skandan (mridangam)


Partha Bose

Partha Bose (sitar)
Aditya Narayan Banerjee (tabla)


Go: Organic Orchestra with Brooklyn Raga Massive

Improvisationally conducted by Adam Rudolph:
Arun Ramamurthy (violin)
Jay Gandhi (bansuri)
Neel Murgai (sitar & overtone singing)
Trina Basu (violin)
Sameer Gupta (tabla)
David Ellenbogen (guitar)
Mari Tanaka (tanpura)
Michel Gentile (c and alto flute, bamboo flutes)
Sylvain Leroux (tambin, flute, bamboo flutes)
Steve Gorn (bansuri flute, hichiriki)
Kaoru Watanabe (c flute,fue, noh kan)
Sean Sonderegger (contrabass clarinet)
Ned Rotherberg (contrabass clarinet, shakuhachi, soprano sax)
Avram Fefer (contrabass clarinet)
Sara Schoenbeck (bassoon, sona)
Ivan Barenboim (clarinet)
Sana Nagano (violin)
Gwen Laster (viola)
Jake Carkey (cello)
Marco Cappelli (acoustic guitar)
Damon Banks (electric bass)
Dan Kurfirst (cajon, frame drums, percussion)
Harris Eisenstadt (bata, percussion)
Joe Hertenstein (tiny kit percussion)


Navatman Music Collective & Bulgarian Voices Trio

Roopa Mahadevan
Preetha Raghu
Vlada Tomova
Shelley Thomas (vocals)



Umer Piracha (vocals)
Tom Deis (guitar, harmonium) Paul Arendt (guitar, harmonium)
Greg Foran (percussion)


Nitin Mitta & Suryaksha Deshpande

Nitin Mitta (tabla)
Suryaksha Deshpande (tabla)
Andrew Shantz (harmonium)


Ritual Ensemble

Vijay Iyer (piano)
Yosvany Terry (saxophone)
Ganavya (vocal)
Rajna Swaminathan (mridangam)


Coltrane Raga Tribute

Sameer Gupta (drums)
Jay Gandhi (bansuri)
Trina Basu (violin)
Arun Ramamurthy (violin)
Brandee Younger (harp)
Marc Cary (piano)
Rashaan Carter (bass)
Abhik Mukherjee (sitar)
Mari Tanaka (tanpura)
Pawan Benjamin (saxophone)

Get excited for the festival by listening to Ragas Live Retrospective here.

Ragas Live Festival is produced with the support of the Rubin Museum of Art and the Peck Stacpoole Foundation.