After making their debut in a series of sold-out New York shows earlier this year, multi-headed musical supergroup EXO-TECH reemerge to weave another hypnotic live show-in-the-round at Pioneer Works featuring an ensemble of some of the most respected musical luminaries from New York and beyond.

Traversing fields somewhere between Talking Heads, Can, The Knife, and the Art Ensemble of Chicago, EXO-TECH explore the intersections between collective improvisation and pop song composition, influenced as much by modern pop and R&B as it is by free jazz, avant garde improvisation, and film music.

The EXO-TECH ensemble performing at Pioneer Works is comprised of Kimbra, Sophia Brous, Yuka Honda (Cibo Matto), Stuart Bogie (Antibalas, Arcade Fire), Mauro Refosco(Atoms for Peace, Red Hot Chili Peppers), Pete Drungle, Danny Meyer (Chairlift, Julia Holter), Miho Hatori (Cibo Matto, New Optimism), Doug Wieselman (Antony & the Johnsons, Laurie Anderson), Jeremy Gustin (Star Rover, Delicate Steve), Spencer Zahn, Benjamin Lazar Davis (Cuddle Magic, Okkervil River), and Cleek Schrey.

Special guests include Sean Ono Lennon, Colin Stetson (Bon Iver, Arcade Fire), Caroline Polachek, Jim White (Dirty Three/ Xylouris White), Sarah Neufeld (Arcade Fire), Dave Harrington (Darkside, Dave Harrington Group). Caroline Polachek will be performing a DJ set.

The collective was formed in February 2016 by Australian musician/bandleader Sophia Brous and New Zealand pop innovator Kimbra. After only two live performances, the group was invited to be inaugural artists-in-residence at the Red Bull Studios New York, where Brous and Kimbra brought together an exceptional cast of creative minds to create musical worlds, including David Byrne, Questlove, Sean Ono Lennon, Bilal, Caroline Polacheck, and Ian Williams (Battles).

Image designed by Jared Samuel.